2017 movies

Well I haven’t seen a lot of movies this year. But I did watched more than 2016’s that’s for sure. I reviewed some in this blog but I’ll talk quickly about each other.

Rings

tumblr_okb7y2dxCE1vfv9moo1_500

The 3dp part of the Ring horror movies series. It really took a lot to arrive. I thought it was fun, Better than the 2d part. But not that great.

The LEGO Batman movie

WB_LegoBM_Trailer4_GIFs_RRRRIP_1_CV_master-rev-1

I think people overreact with this movie. It has lots of humor and all but..is not the best thing ever. Sometimes I don’t understand peoples’ tastes but whatever.

The Great Wall

a2ae843adacea12ef0419dab2ee905d9

Another shallow fun movie from Chinawood. It bombed in the box office and I can see why. Is not that memorable and has more style over susbtance.

Logan

Logan-gif-kill

The final wolverine movie from Hugh Jackman. I thought it was great. Different and with a smart script, very different from the other comic book movies.

Beauty and the beast

660022f99683f436cb71caf1ee10e5bf

Another lazy shot-by-shot Live action/CGI remake from The Disney Factory with a feminist touch. Meh. At least my niece enjoyed it.

Ghost in the Shell

landscape-1479034988-ezgifcom-optimize-13

Different from the original animated movie but very interesting to watch. Many claim tha the “white washing” cuased it to bomb. I disagree. I guess that for a huge hollywood movie is too slow and weird.

Guardians of the Galaxy 2

guardians

I prefer the first part. This one was very fun but the humor got annoying after a while. And that over dramatic reaction to that blue character..bleah.

Pirates of the caribbean: dead men don’t tell tales

0af6fefaaed7c95f579d42033bee1ecb

I liked this movie even if the formula feels a bit dry by now and Johny depp as good as it is, it’s starting to feel to old and tiring for the part. I wouldn’t mind a sequel though.

Wonder Woman

ww

One of, if not the, best super hero movie of the year. It was time that WW had a proper film adaptation. The script is solid and it has everything: drama, action, humor, thrill, etc. but more suprisingly, no feminist crap! yaaay

Okja

okja-2

They made a huge deal about this movie. Why? I got tired in the middle and watched something else. I don’t know if it was the dragging pace or the absurd storyline or the annoying characters (starting with the little brat).

Spiderman:Homecoming

Untitled-26d38d

A very good adaptation. I liked it. Is the best spiderman movie? of course not! It is a very good one but being part of the MCU just made it more constricted and claustrophobic. And the liberal agenda was annoying but it wasn’t that bad in the end.

War of the Planet of the Apes

tumblr_otyl7ddSLb1srnwquo2_500

What War? the trailers promised a huge war about the apes vs the humans and in the end it was anything but.At least the final product was very good but I dislike when they tell lies in the marketing.

Death Note

Death

Yeah I know that it deviated a lot from the anime..but I don’t care about the anime. As a stand alone movie I enjoyed it.

It

it

I think this is one of the best adaptations of any Stephen King’s work. It has many deviations from the novel but it worked and kept the spirit. It may not be very scary but it had a great atmosophere and creepy shots. Cannot wait for the second part.

Gerald’s game

anigif_sub-buzz-24187-1504734834-13

Another excellent King adaptation! Except the corny ending..but the rest of the movie is chillying and great.

1922

tumblr_owsybeIgz41ui45hlo6_500

And another great King’s adaptation. Less scary and more dramatic with excellent acting and dialogues.

Coco

IMG_3114

Another box office hit that Pixar churns in its sleep. It’s actually a very sweet movie and it is a very good one but like with other Pixar movies people gives it more praise than it deserves…..and not I didn’t cry with the ending.

ef32e984a5fa19c0848b370df5bf4b8d
yeah yeah yeah..

Justice League

jl

A very fun movie that could have been much better. It’s a shame. But if this means that the DC movies will set their course right then maybe is for the best. Bring on the Batman movies now. And a proper Superman one.

Star Wars The Last Jedi

disney-ruined-starwars-994x400

Bright

Bright-Will-Smith-5

What a nice surprise. I was curious about this movie and ended up enjoying this Police thriller/fantasy mash-up. I can’t wait for the sequel.


So what’s coming from 2018 that catches my eye? Let’s see

  • Ready Player One – the trailer looks good. We’ll see.
  • Avengers:Infinity War – oh yeah!
  • Deadpool 2 – I guess..
  • Solo:a star wars movie – fuck that shit
  • Jurassic World:Fallen Kingdom – the trailer makes it seem like a pseudo-remake of the The Lost World so…I don’t know
  • Alita:Battle Angel – I am not familiar with the original material but who knows. Although those eyes are creepy as fuck
  • The New Mutants – better enjoy these Fox X-men movies before Marvel turns them into sitcoms
  • X-Men Dark Phoenix – I liked the last 3 X-men movies so I do wanna give this a chance. I hope it doesn’t dissapoints.
  • Fantastic Beasts 2 – The first part was just OK. Let’s see how this one develops.
  • Bohemian Raphsody – sure why not
  • Mary Poppins Returns – I like the premise. I’ll give it a look

 

Leave a comment